Steamtown National Historic Site – “The Big Engines That Did!”…

Steamtown hdr not 6

I always had a love for the railroad. I still have my first Lionel set, bought in 1951 by my dad, and I still cherish it, just as I did as a little guy growing up in Brooklyn. Our apartment was located next to the freight line that runs through Brooklyn and on many a day or night when the trains rolled by, my friends and I would count the cars (155 cars was the longest I remember). I can still vividly hear the clank-clank of the cars on the tracks below.

These trains were pulled by the mighty locomotives we found at Steamtown. Here’s a look at some of them.

(Reminder: Click on any image to begin slide show.)

 

2 thoughts on “Steamtown National Historic Site – “The Big Engines That Did!”…

Leave a Reply

